Jay Rock 90059

by Aaron Dezonie

Jay Rock’s new album, 90059, is out now through Top Dawg Entertainment. Fans can also stream it in full via Apple Music.

The 11-track effort serves as Rock’s sophomore album following 2011’s Follow Me Home. A star-studded affair, it features collaborations with Kendrick Lamar and the rest of the Black Hippy crew (Rock, Lamar, ScHoolboy Q, and Ab-Soul), as well as his fellow TDE label mates SZA and Isaiah Rashad.

We at Dark Circle are huge TDE fans and love all the moves from all the TDE artists so we were overly excited to hear of the release of Jay Rock's 90059 Album. 

This Album is fire from start to finish! Jay Rock being probably the least in the spotlight member of the Black Hippy crew but this album contradicts that notion. From the moment track 1 starts the sound, energy and tone is set and it all screams "I'M NOT MESSIN". Jay comes correct on every track with that hardcore westcoast flow that takes us back to 90's LA glory days.

The LP was preceded by the songs “Gumbo”“Money Trees Deuce”the title track, and “Vice City”, which marks Black Hippy’s first joint number since 2012 and this track is no let down. "Vice City" is proof that Black Hippy as a collective are the most dangerous group currently in Hip Hop. Just make us want to hear more of what this group has up its sleeve

Massive shout out to Jay Rock, his team and the TDE movement for bringing us yet another banger.

Order a copy of 90059 here.

90059 Tracklist:
01. Necessary
02. Easy Bake (feat. Kendrick Lamar and SZA)
03. Gumbo
04. Wanna Ride (feat. Isaiah Rashad)
05. The Ways (feat. Sir)
06. Telegram (feat. Lance Skiiiwalker)
07. 90059
08. Vice City (feat. Black Hippy)
09. Fly on the Wall (feat. Busta Rhymes)
10. Money Trees Deuce (feat. Lance Skiiiwalker)
11. The Message

Watch the video for “Vice City” below.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published